Bar Workers´ Health and Environmental Tobacco Smoke Exposure (BHETSE): contacts


Jon Ayres

Principal Investigator: Professor Jon Ayres

Formerly: Head of Environmental and Occupational Medicine, University of Aberdeen

Currently: Professor of Environmental and Respiratory Medicine
Institute of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
University of Birmingham
Birmingham, B15 2TT
j.g.ayres@bham.ac.uk

Professor Ayres joined the Institute of Occupational and Environmental Medicine at the University of Birmingham as Professor of Environmental and Respiratory Medicine in September 2008. Prior to his move, Jon was head of the department of Environmental and Occupational Medicine in Aberdeen. He has had an interest in inhaled environmental hazards, notably environmental tobacco smoke (ETS), outdoor air pollution and biomass smoke exposure in the developing world. He chairs the Department of Health´s Committee on the Health Effects of Air Pollution (COMEAP), is Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Pesticides (DEFRA) and is a member of the Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards (EPAQS).

(Photo courtesy of Asthma UK)

Back to details of the BHETSE study


Sean Semple

Lead Researcher: Dr Sean Semple

Senior Lecturer
Department of Environmental and Occupational Medicine
University of Aberdeen
Foresterhill Road
Aberdeen, AB25 2ZP
sean.semple@abdn.ac.uk

Sean Semple leads the human exposure group in the department of Environmental and Occupational Medicine at the University of Aberdeen. He is the director of the Scottish Centre for Indoor Air research, and works closely with scientists at the Institute of Occupational Medicine in Edinburgh on projects examining the effects of air pollution on health. In addition to work on ETS, he also has an interest in biomass fuel smoke in developing countries and contributes to projects in India, Nepal and Malawi.

Audrey Atherton Naji
(deceased June 2008)
Research Assistant
Department of Environmental and Occupational Medicine
University of Aberdeen

Yvette Christopher
Formerly: Scientist
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh

Professor Anne Ludbrook
Programme Director of the Evaluation of Health Improvement Programme, Health Economics Research Unit
University of Aberdeen
a.ludbrook@abdn.ac.uk

Fintan Hurley
Research Director
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh
fintan.hurley@iom-world.org

Brian Miller
Principal Epidemiologist
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh
brian.miller@iom-world.org

Dr Karen Galea (nee Creely)
Senior Scientist
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh
karen.galea@iom-world.org

Laura MacCalman
Formerly: Research Assistant
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh

Scott Dempsey
Formerly: Clinical Assistant
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh

Dr Martie van Tongeren
Head of Human Exposure
Institute of Occupational Medicine, Edinburgh
martie.van.tongeren@iom-world.org

Mark Petticrew
Formerly of: Medical Research Council, Glasgow
Current address: Professor of Public Health Evaluation
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
mark.petticrew@lshtm.ac.uk

Dr Shona Hilton
Research Associate
Medical Research Council
Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, Glasgow
s.hilton@sphsu.mrc.ac.uk

Catherine Ferrell
Survey Manager
Medical Research Council
Social and Public Health Sciences Unit, Glasgow
c.ferrell@sphsu.mrc.ac.uk

Back to top

Updated 21st July 2014

We use cookies to help improve this website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue. Don't show this message again