Meet the Evaluation Team

The Evaluation team aims to improve understanding of the reach and impact of health improvement policies and programmes through outcome planning, monitoring and evaluation. We make the most of the learning from evaluations to improve the effectiveness of public health interventions.

Diane Stockton (contact her at diane.stockton@nhs.net) leads the team with two Principal Public Health Advisers, Neil Craig and Clare Beeston. Neil (contact him at Neil.Craig@nhs.net) leads the work on the Economics of Prevention, and Clare (contact her at Clare.Beeston@nhs.net) leads the team working on Monitoring and Evaluating Scotland's Alcohol Strategy (MESAS).

The rest of the team manages a portfolio of work:

  • Ruth Dryden, Public Health Adviser, is currently working on supporting the Community Planning Partnerships with evaluation. Contact Ruth at ruth.dryden@nhs.net
  • Jane Ford, Public Health Adviser, is currently working on health inequalities, scoping work to explore the feasibility of developing an outcomes framework for reducing health inequalities, and supporting our Outcomes Planning and Evaluation Programme. Contact Jane at jane.ford3@nhs.net
  • Megan MacPherson, Public Health Adviser, is currently working on the evaluation of the Place Standard and other MESAS related work. Contact Megan at megan.macpherson@nhs.net
  • Rachel McAdams, Public Health Adviser, is supporting the Outcomes Planning and MESAS Programmes and will be looking at the evaluability of the impact of Free School Meals. Contact Rachel at rachel.mcadams@nhs.net
  • Fiona Myers, Public Health Adviser, is currently working on financial inclusion and influence and impact. Contact Fiona at Fionamyers@nhs.net
  • Deborah Shipton, Public Health Adviser, is currently working with the MESAS team and on the evaluation of policy/strategy on food and health. Contact Deborah at deborah.shipton@nhs.net

The team is supported by our Project Officer, Melanie Tsagalidou, who is responsible for maintaining the team's websites and provides support to the Outcomes Planning and Evaluation programme. You can contact her at Melanie.Tsagalidou@nhs.net

Updated 27 January 2016

We use cookies to help improve this website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue. Don't show this message again